QGIS and WGS 84

Image result for shapefile wikiGIS is such a wonderful world! Alas, there are several standards and because of the lack of a global acceptance of a single one of them, the popular QGIS package is incompatible with WGS 84. In  one of my recent projects, I had issues with the shape files. They were slightly shifted and didn’t fall exactly on the streets.

I am working on a Java/Python plugin that could both solve the incompatibility problem and  be easily be incorporated in  QGIS or any software that supports dynamic module loading. As I am preparing in parallel my dissertation, I don’t know when the plugin will be available, but anyway, it will be a part of EXISTS.

Leave a Reply

